Be still my soul

Standard

Listening to this song today brought back lots of memories. Memories of a time when our family went from hurt, to discouraged, to completely at a loss for words. The Lord comforted me with this song; I would listen to it over and over. We were going through some very stormy days, very unknown changes, and not by our own choice really. The feelings of “us against the world” were pretty tough. Yet as we got through that awful time, the trying transition, the Lord began to show us the light. We visited our new home and 4 months later moved here. And though this is not the end, It’s joyful. The Lord has given us so much more than we will ever deserve. The best part is to see how the Lord used that stormy way and brought us through it. He had much better in store.

Honestly if you looked at our city you wouldn’t ever say “what a wonderful place!” However, if you knew the people we do, the potential, the boldness, the genuine love and care between believers – you would understand. I know there will be more stormy days and more unknowns. I hope to one day look back and see what God once did, he’ll do again. I hope to have more faith this time around. And to know how to still my soul.

“Be Still, My Soul”
by Catharina von Schlegel, 1697-?
Translated by Jane Borthwick, 1813-1897
1. Be still, my soul; the Lord is on thy side;
Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain;
Leave to thy God to order and provide;
In every change He faithful will remain.
Be still, my soul; thy best, thy heavenly, Friend
Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

2. Be still, my soul; thy God doth undertake
To guide the future as He has the past.
Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake;
All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
Be still, my soul; the waves and winds still know
His voice who ruled them while He dwelt below.

3. Be still, my soul, though dearest friends depart
And all is darkened in the vale of tears;
Then shalt thou better know His love, His heart,
Who comes to soothe thy sorrows and thy fears.
Be still, my soul; thy Jesus can repay
From His own fulness all He takes away.

4. Be still, my soul; the hour is hastening on
When we shall be forever with the Lord,
When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone,
Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul; when change and tears are past,
All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

8 responses »

  1. Gretchen, Thank you so much for your blog. I have not been through the hurts you have talked about. I have had 2 years of health problems and would get discourage because I wasn’t able to do the things I wanted to do or to attend church as often as I wanted but after reading your blog I can see more clearly what God has done for me. Because of one of the tests they found I have a brain tumor but found it was benign. Praise The Lord. We have been watching some blood clots I have had all are gone except one in my lung. It’s been checked 3 times and it is still there in the same place, has not moved. I was concerned but God sent me peace about this is going to be alright. After reading your blog I realize I need to turn more to our Lord and feel His peace. Still have some health problems but taking one day at a time. Thank you for taking the time to write. Again I have rattle on must be (old age)LOL. Hugs to you all and God Bless. Dotty DeVault

    • That’s such a blessing to hear! Thank you for sharing. I will definitely be in prayer. Thank you for reading and commenting so much. It’s always a blessing.

  2. God is so good to give peace…even in the most impossible situations. My struggles are not the same as yours, but just as real. It is such a blessing to know that He IS there and more than willing to help, give strength, and comfort.

  3. Gretchen, Thank you for your sincere honesty and reliance on the Lord. Though I only met you for a few days, I have been encouraged by what you share–especially your precious family on FB. This song has been needed this week as my husband is in India for two weeks and he has been unable to email me until today. I know God’s Word, but fears sometimes try to crowd in and discourage.

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I’ve been there with my husband traveling. It’s so easy to let our imagination fly.

  4. Oh, how I love this song! It has been a healing balm to my hurting heart so many times. I can listen and be carried away into the arms of my loving Savior. Such depth and comfort.
    It is a pleasure to read as you share your heart and to pray for you as you share your struggles.
    You are a blessing!

Leave a Reply

