Being Still

Standard

So much has taken place these last few weeks, saying goodbye, packing up our belongings, flying to Spain and moving our things from one continent to another. The Lord has been so faithful in it all. I’m grateful mostly not for the circumstances working out as much as for the peace He has given. I knew saying goodbye would be tough, but there was a peace and joy in it I cannot explain. Hearing about several expenses we did not expect was also ok, knowing He knew all along and He is in control of all of that. Flying here to meet Tyler alone with the kids, my bags were overweight, I didn’t have a doctor’s note, or notarized permission from Tyler. But knowing there was nothing I could do I had no choice but to trust He would take care of it and He did.
Several years ago I know I would have been a nervous wreck during all of this. Actually normally I would, it’s amazing the grace He gives when we are in a place with no choice but to trust.
Once we arrived it was so sweet to have all of us together, and we were finally moved here!! I feel as though we have waited and planned forever!

But then the second day being here it hit me. This is it! My flesh and my heart started to fail me. A couple of gloomy days and poor night’s sleep and I was not doing well.
The challenges of cooking in a new place, the language slightly different, the culture shock about to hit, the kids not quite themselves. Fighting a cold, the time to think and be left alone in my thoughts after months of being surrounded and distracted by people. The fear of loneliness, and missing friends and family, the general letdown.
Judson mentioned his cousins should be sitting at the table with us along with their dog by his side, at that point I couldn’t hold back the tears any longer. I knew this was coming, I should have been ready for it. The Lord brought me back to one of my favorite verses last night
Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. (Psalms 46:10)
I really haven’t had to be still in a long long time. Some days are too hard to be still when we allow our thoughts to consume us. But we cannot sense His presence unless we are still. The point is not to sit and think about all the things that are wrong, or could go wrong, but to dwell on Him.
But the verse doesn’t stop there. Why do we need his presence? So He will be exalted in the earth. Our whole reason for doing all of this is so that He will be exalted. What a privilege! Yet I can never exalt Him if I am not truly aware of His presence.

13 responses »

  1. While I can’t identify with the challenges of your life as a missionary, I can identify with the sweet peace that our wonderful Lord gives in troubled times. How great He is to carry us through our troubles so that we can exalt his name and testify of his goodness in our lives. Thank you for sharing your trials, for being real. I think of you and pray for you often.

  2. Gretchen, you have been in my thoughts and prayers for the past several weeks…and I will continue to uphold you and your family as you continue to transition. What a blessing to know that God is always with us…even when we feel the most alone or are hurting alone. God continue to show a himself strong on my behalf in the struggles I face. Be strong in the Lord, my Godly friend. I look forward to knowing you face to face one day. (Is. 40:26…my meditation for today.)

    • Thank you Mandy, I can’t wait to finally meet you one day.
      This settling has been so good to see The Lord encourage us in so many ways these past few days. He is good!

  3. i needed this, maybe more than you know. thank you for being real, honest. God is enough! i just need to be still and allow Him to provide.
    praying for you Gretchen, and your family-

  4. Hello Masters this is Eric from Fairview Baptist in Corryton Tennessee. Thank you so much for keeping us up on how you all are doing. Please let us know of anything specific we can pray for guys. Hope you all know what a blessing you are to us. Praise tha King!

    Eric Cottrell

  5. Gretchen,

    Our Journey group met yesterday and amazingly enough we discussed exactly what you shared in your blog. It is true. We do need to be still and know that he is God and be in awed by that thought not focused on the wrong things, but on him.
    I wanted to let you know that Uncle Larry in Phoenix is not doing well. He has cancer and has just been put on morphine by hospice.
    Even in this, it is true. We need to keep our mind on the awesomeness of God and His perfect timing.
    God Bless,
    Aunt Kathy

  6. Beautiful post, Gretchen, and so full of truth. Those days when the waves of “just about everything” are about to knock you down, He lifts up and gives a grace and strength you know came from Him.
    You all are in my prayers daily!
    Patty

Leave a Reply

