The work of God

Standard

There are days when I completely understand Peter in Matthew 14 where he steps out in faith to walk on the water with Jesus. Now I am aware Peter expressed much more faith than I have probably ever had. But the part where He starts to look around him and the reality sets in about what he is undertaking, he starts to sink. I have had that feeling more times than I like to admit. We make a decision as a family in faith knowing full well this is what we need to do, and then it hits. Wait a minute how are we going to do this financially? How are we going to work out the details? What were we thinking? What if? Etc… I start to look at all these obstacles and every time I think of Peter.

My biggest struggles are not with the big things, like stepping out of the boat. Sometimes the big things are so big I know I have no control anyway, so why waste time worrying. It’s the little things, its all those little “waves” so to speak that I think I need to maneuver around. I need to figure it out for myself, when in reality it’s all too big for me. I recently read “If authentic, saving belief is the act of trusting, then to choose stress is an act of disbelief…atheism” (Ann Voskamp)
Many times stress is thrust upon us, Jesus himself had stress but choosing stress over trust is where we should draw the line.
So if we call ourselves believers and trust him for salvation, yet can’t trust Him for every day can we truly call ourselves “believers”?
This idea stuck with me. We all like to think we live in complete submission and trust that is only where true joy is found but that usually requires stepping out into the unknown, where we can’t have any control. It seems scary but it’s where real peace and joy thrive.
If we trust Him with our eternal soul I think we can trust Him for today. After all it’s not our work it’s His.

Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent. (John 6:29)

Leave a Reply

