Being Real

Standard

In an effort to be “real” it has brought me through a process of baring my sin and struggles for all to see. It’s not an easy process, making yourself vulnerable to the world. Wondering if people will respect me in my position, knowing I am not perfect. But I’ve seen what it has done for me when others are willing to share the fact that they too are human and their only hope is God. In fact it has changed my life. Knowing that the Lord has used them, even through failures gives me hope. The point is God is bigger than all of our failures and His purpose for us is to find Him. So when we share we don’t need to reveal it all but let people see that you too are human and if we were perfect we sure wouldn’t need God.

Paul says in 1 Tim 1:14-15 And the grace of our Lord was exceeding abundant with faith and love which is in Christ Jesus. This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.
He does not say I was chief, but I am. We all know that is the case for each one of us. We battle with it from moment to moment. But Christ is our Victory.

How have you been real? With your family, or friend or maybe that younger person who looks up to you. It’s a vulnerable thing and hard at times. To admit. But I truly believe God uses it to touch people in a way “perfection” cannot. Only God is perfect, only He gives us worth. So go ahead don’t be afraid to get real with someone and let them see how good your God is.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

