The unending “To Do” List

Standard

I know most of you may have already started and stopped resolutions, some haven’t even bothered, and others are sticking to them with gusto! So yes I am quite behind on this resolution bit, but I still wanted to really stop and think about it. Instead of waking up on New years day with the usual “exercise more, read more, clean more, organize more….” I really have tried to take the time to think about my priorities and what I have been doing wrong. As I searched for Motivation to tackle this new year, I decided that was not what I needed at all. Maybe what I really need to do is have the right perspective. Not necessarily add more to my unending “to do” list. I might need to just take off a few things and do less more effectively. If that makes any sense. So some of my decided resolutions have been…

1. Take Time, take more time with the Lord, take more time with my Husband and children, stop cleaning, (it isn’t meant to be finished anyway) and play with them while they still want to play with me. Think about those around me more, and less of myself. There are so many sweet moments and blessings that I tend to miss being so distracted by the unimportant little issues of life.

2. Give myself a Break! Stop caring what anyone thinks or says, stop trying to keep up, stop feeling a push to do do do, stop, stop! I know God made me the wife to my husband only I am capable of fulfilling that role. Why should I feel pressure to do more, when My husband is perfectly happy with the way I am. My kids have more fun when I am happy to be their mother just the way God made me. No pressure to be more.

3. Perspective. Like I’ve said before we can all find things we could be down about or get on ourselves about, but we are so blessed. So instead of being frustrated by my constant failure to keep my house spotless. Be thankful that I have wonderful people in my life to care for. Instead of being frustrated by the things I have or don’t. Being content breaths such peace and simplicity. It’s so much more desirable, than any THING we could ever have.

4. Balance! instead of Going on a crazy diet, I’m trying to take each day at a time, and just have more balance. I have all of my goals in that department, but really just try being more aware and balanced in all areas. Allotting time for exercise, time for social media, time for cleaning. There are a million things to do, and not nearly enough time to do them. I could never sleep and still not have enough time. There has to be some limit. As we take this fresh start to focus on where we are and where we want to be, I like to really dwell on and apply some attainable goals. Goals that will help me to put my priorities in order. Not just add some more things to my “to do” list.

Phillippians 4:4-8

4 Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice.5 Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

4 responses »

  1. Hello, Gretchen! Just found your blog again through a link….excited to see you writing again! Excited, too, to see how God is using you and Tyler on the field! Mind if I add you to my blogroll (I won’t list a country)? Either way, I’ll be reading!
    Patty Sommer

    • thanks so much Patty, I’ve been a little offline for a while. No problem about the blogroll, i’m so clueless about that stuff. most of the time i wonder if i should have a blog! you can post us in North Africa if you want. I will be getting caught up with yours again 🙂 thanks for finding me!

  2. Thank you for sharing this Gretch. That to-do-list have taking much important time from those who really matter to me to. I agree that the pressure we put on ourselves to be super-women does not help either. Meditating on the Word and taking things one day at a time, is great advice.

Leave a Reply

