Comfy friends

Standard

I’m pretty sure I have the most amazing friends, each one has an incredible story. Some I have things in common with or work with. There are my mommy friends and then there’s that handful of friends who are like those pajama pants I’ve had for 10 years now, they are sooo comfy, fit perfectly and still look great 😉 (for being ten years old) I just can’t wait to relax with them.
Those are the friends i’m thinking about today, most of them I’ve had for a long time, longer than I can remember, but a couple of them are more recent and the Lord has truly knit our hearts together. A couple are family and the rest are just like family. You know the kind, they know every side of you and love you anyway. You don’t even have to explain, they just get it. You can just laugh with and most importantly laugh at yourself with them. Mine are all long distance and I haven’t seen most of them in over a year now. But I know when I do see every single one, we will sit down and it will seem as though we haven’t spent one moment apart. The ones that are like a warm cozy blanket, my pjs and a pumpkin spiced latte for my soul.
I’ve been overwhelmed with gratefulness for these women. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt I am deeply blessed to have each and every one. God is so good to give us friendships that mirror his love. I miss them more than mere words can describe, I crave time with each and every one of them on a regular basis. But I know as terrible as I am at keeping in touch, they are too, So we get it. Today I have decided to make it priority to keep in touch and keep those special ones close.

4 responses »

  1. I’m crying so hard right now! I couldn’t have said it any better! I love you and know we are both in God’s place no matter how hard it is on us! Bre

    • Love you bre, glad you knew I was talking about you. Praying for you I know being home sick or with sick kids is quite draining on your morale. I pray for you constantly. Miss you

  2. Hi Gretchen,

    I love reading your blog, knowing that you are doing what God has directed you and your family to do for him; in spite of not having physical contact with your extended family. However, what was even more heart rending, was reading Bre response and your response to her. It is so encouraging to hear that two cousin-mom’s dealing with the constancy of little ones with a Christian worldview that makes all of the difference in the world. My heart is blessed.

    On another note, I wanted to let you know that Uncle David and I are relocating to Tuscon, Arizona for a three month period due to Uncle David’s lung condition. We covet your prayers for a positive result from this trip.

    God Bless,
    Aunt Kathy

    • Thank you so much for reading. It’s been a great experience, learning so much about God’s strength and grace.
      I definitely miss you all, now more than ever. But God is good and gives grace!
      Definitely praying for you guys, love you,

Leave a Reply

