Wonderfully Made

Standard

I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I have either tried or wished my curly hair were straight. Or wished I could just lose that weight that seems to be impossible to lose. We all have those things we’ve lived with our entire lives wishing we could change. Last week Norah said something about her hair being brown, yes it’s started. I told her “God gave you brown hair because he thinks it looks the best on you.”
Just as those words came out of my mouth I was convicted. Is that really what I believe? If so why do I complain about my curls? Why do I try to straighten them all the time? And get upset when it gets so humid? If I truly believed God gave me what looks the best on me, I wouldn’t be so adamant about changing it.
Seems kind of shallow to worry about these things, but as I try to show Norah she was perfectly formed. I want her to see past this completely shallow culture of ours. I want her to Believe with all of her heart that God lovingly formed every last inch of her.
As I try to teach her the Lord is showing me that I need to believe those things too. And thank God for how He made me, every last part of me. Even those unruly curls! 😉

I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. (Psalm 139:14 KJV)

20111101-173131.jpg

2 responses »

  1. Gretchen, I personally love your unruly curls. I know exactly what you mean though. I think I spent my kids growing up years avoiding being in any pictures with them because I was never thin enough..How ridiculous is that..A few more pounds later, a few more wrinkles and thinning hair to boot, but I will be in pictures with my grandchildren. They will have those memories of me for years to come. You are wonderfully and beautifully made…treasure those ringlets. Belinda B

    • Thank you so much! It’s funny you say that because now I think “oh to be 20 lbs thinner”. But a few years ago I was thinner and I still thought I was fat. :). It’s never enough! So why worry about it so much. Thanks for your encouragement, you are so sweet! Praying for your move!

Leave a Reply

