Failure

Standard

Have you ever had a week where you feel like a failure in every possible area of life? This was that week for me. I have that to do list, 3 feet long, and that’s apart from the everyday cooking, cleaning, laundry, kids, language, husband, church. All wonderful things of course, except maybe laundry and cleaning not so wonderful, they tend to laugh in my face like those pigs on angry birds.
So as i’m trying to get it ALL done which, really who am I kidding? I have a hard tome getting this normal stuff done, extra stuff is not likely.
By Saturday night it all came to a head more or less, and who did I snap at when he almost dumped the whole dishwasher wrack full of dishes on the floor? You guessed it sweet little Judson. Who is just so sensitive, he wouldn’t look at me after that. :(. Talk about guilt! So I just quit, went to bed leaving my house like it was.
Then on top of that the nagging feeling of what am I doing? Ministry/language is so not like it is in other countries, i just don’t measure up. Talk about kicking you when you’re down Satan sure knows how to do it. How do you pull yourself out of such discouragement and feelings of failure?
This morning I opened up to 1corinthians 1-3. And the answer was right there in front of me.
1 Corinthians 1:27, 31
But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty;
That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.

after reading these verses, i see “failing” is ok. If I didn’t fail I would be able to boast in myself. But I can’t by any stretch. Our ministry should never be impressive, but just an offering purely to God, straight from our foolish hearts, only God could use someone foolish like me. So all in all Jesus took these scriptures and placed them for this day so I would read them and be encouraged, that when things are done through him I am victorious always through him. When I fail it’s just a good reminder that I really need him.

10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. (2 Corinthians 12:10 KJV)

7 responses »

  1. I’m right there with you. Thank you for your encouragement and reminder from Scripture that it isn’t about “me” anyway. I will be praying for you in the days ahead.

  2. Thanks for sharing, Gretchen. It is so amazing that God uses us inspite of our failures and inabilites! I can only see that you are an amazing mom and missionary, though! Love you! 🙂 Mellisa

Leave a Reply

