Is she really going?

Standard

She’s growing up too fast. As we prepare for Norah to go to school, I have such mixed emotions. We have prayed about it and come to the conclusion this is what we are doing this year. I really want her to learn Spanish and it would be a nice way to get more involved with the people in our community. But school here does not start out for a preschooler. They throw them right in at 3 and have them doing full days right off the bat. I worry about How she’ll handle this, I guess we will find out. But the more I think about it the more my heart breaks to see my baby girl go. I still feel numb to the idea. Almost like i’m not facing the facts. I just wish we could find a happy medium where she is exposed to both English and Spanish education. Praying toward that end. I just don’t feel ready or excited about this at all. Are you ever ready to send your kids off to school? I really never imagined this day would be so dreaded. I can’t imagine the days of not having my sweet Norah home with us. Pray for us as we take this new step, and that the Lord would open doors for us to reach the people in our community.

20110824-125039.jpg

6 responses »

  1. It is so hard to see your babies grow up, but it is rewarding at the same time to watch them turn into sweet little people that can function well on their own. I can’t believe she how quick she is growing up, i still remember watching the video of her crawling on the bed :-(. Just keep reminding yourself you will get to spend quality one on one time w/ Judson.

  2. Wow, Gretchen! I read what you write and realize how I am so spoiled! I was so troubled by Caitlin going to school – but that was just to 3 days/week; 3 hrs/day; and at New England! I wonder how you both are handling it now? I can only imagine that she must really understand Spanish well by now…?

    • she’s definitely picking it up, but it’s hard for her to pay attention in spanish. πŸ™‚ her teacher said she is doing well, but just loses her when she’s speaking to the whole group. πŸ™‚ she just started full days, so it’s kind of sad all over again πŸ™‚ just an hour longer, so not too bad. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

