Finding Life

Standard

Matthew 10:33-38.  But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.  34 Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword. 35For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law. 36And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household. 37He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 38And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.  39He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.

Sitting in my temporary kitchen this week with my friend,  It was one of those busy days with lots of unexpected things coming up, but as I sat there working on lunch for the day I listened to this new Christian tell me about her week.  She told me she had a friend who was really going through a hard time, and decided to share her faith in Jesus with this friend, share the answer to her Joy, which was noticeably  a big change once she turned to Jesus.

She hasn’t shared her faith with too many people yet, and this friend is a very close friend.  It’s not easy when you live in a muslim culture to let people in on the fact that you are a Christian now.  It is a step that one must take only when that christian is mature enough to truly take up their cross.  many times it means saying goodbye to their families and friends and everyone they know it’s something we as Americans do not even comprehend.  there are many opinions on the subject, but overall this is a huge step in faith and love, and can only be done by the complete guidance of the holy spirit.

As my friend talked she was noticeably down, she explained to me that her friend’s reaction was very cold and now is not talking to her.  My heart just breaks for her, if you could see the joy in this sweet sister in Christ you would understand how amazing it is to know her and such a scary responsibility to try to encourage her through Christ.  I will never and have never understood what it is like to lose everyone I know to follow Christ.  As I write this I am reminded of my own horrible complaining spirit missing my own christian friends who completely support me in where God has called us.  Please pray for my friend and for all the Christians around the world who are alone and have no fellowship but maybe a television.  I believe there are special rewards in Heaven waiting for these precious children of God.

But before I close, please go back and read through those verses again, I began this post as just a draft to get my thoughts written down, and have been really praying for the Lord to speak to me in my devotions, but as I read through these verses describing what I as a follower of Christ should be doing it brought such conviction to my heart and tears to my eyes.  He brought this post to mind so that I would read those verses today.

My tendency is to compare my life to what it could be in the states, and “have the people we love around us.”  The Lord Showed me when I feel sorry for my children missing out on so much, it is just loving them more than I love my God who created them and  let me have them for a while.  I am humbled by his love for me through all of my failures.

~”He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.”

Leave a Reply

