Desire to learn

Standard

Learning a language has to be the most humbling thing I have ever done.  It’s so uncomfortable when you can’t quite get what they are saying especially when you know it’s about you and laughter follows whatever it was they said.   I try not to think the worst possible thing, but sometimes it’s a challenge.  Like when they refer to food, pointing at you and something about you liking food haha.  Not so funny to me.  I’m still not sure what was said, but not knowing just stinks. really it may have been something nice, but without understanding, it’s hard to think so positively when you are frustrated.    That stuff makes me want to learn, but not for very good reasons.

These past few weeks I have been able to spend time with a sweet sister in Christ.  And just hearing her testimony and questions about the Lord and Bible I wish so bad I could communicate every thing On my heart.  We try to struggle through simple things but there is a bond there that only comes being in the family of Christ.  I have been able to pick up a bit and carry on very SIMPLE conversations with her.  Also she has been teaching me how to make all kinds of desserts, it’s been fun and probably the reason I look like I really like to eat!  🙂

First off, I have to admit, I had NO desire to learn another language.  I have my children to take care of and they are more important. Also, watching Tyler fly by me in the language is quite exciting and discouraging at the same time.  The days you feel like you are the only stupid one not getting it, are not so fun.  I got to the point where I would cry on the way home from church.  Out of shear frustration.    It has been a challenge to try to learn with two kids in their toddler years, and balancing my ministry at home, with my family and the Language.

Since really spending time around friends and just the language in general.   (which isn’t possible at home)  I have been so encouraged to learn it.  I may not learn it as fast as my husband, but I will learn it, one day.   While taking classes with my teacher in person lately, I find myself wishing my classes could be longer, and I could have more time around the language.  (That is a miracle to me) I Love my God who makes all things possible even giving us the desire to learn a language!

Psalm 37:4  Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

I have to add, one incredibly fun thing is laughing at all the funny mistakes you make in a language.  The Other night I sat around with friends here and we laughed so hard at some of our mistakes.  Some so funny I can’t post them.  🙂  It sure gave us a fun night!  I’d say they were worth it.

5 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing this Gretchen…praying for you to be able to learn and speak the language! Would LOVE to see some pictures of the desserts you’re making! 🙂

  2. Gretchen, I am sure that you are doing better than you give yourself credit for. I am sure that it can be frustrating at times though. You girls never cease to amaze me since the extent of my foreign language is “Hola”… Continue supporting Tyler and being there as a great mom for your 2 precious bambinos(hey, I know 2 words) and God will continue to bless you. God Bless.. Belinda B

    • Thank you so much. That was very encouraging, sorry it took me so long to reply, i couldn’t read the whole comment until tyler showed me how. I’m terrible! 🙂 Thank you for your prayers and praying for these next few months for you guys. As you soak up every minute of your grandbabies!!!

Leave a Reply

