Check the Volume

Standard

This would have to be my saddest post so far.  I hope there are none sadder.  I am officially inducted into the “first time mom mistakes” hall of fame.  The other night we put Norah to bed and went to bed ourselves.  I saw that the baby monitor was on, I did not check the volume.  So we headed to bed.  8 hours later I woke up and thought, wow she went 8 1/2 hours.  I went into her room surprised she went that long, because that is not her normal routine.  She was whimpering, talk about the saddest sounds I have ever heard.  Come to find out the volume on the monitor was down and i still have no idea how long she had been awake, hungry.  

She ate and then was her smiling self like every morning.  So I guess there was no psychological damage.  I just can’t get it out of my mind.  I know I’ll never do that again.

I think about how much I lack when it comes to being a mom, and am so thankful, my Heavenly Father never makes those mistakes.  He always hears us, doesn’t have to check the volume.   And He gives us the grace to learn to follow His lead.  

One response »

Leave a Reply

