Babies Cry

Standard

If there is one thing I have learned since becoming a mom (4 short months ago).  It would be that babies cry.  I know that sounds ridiculous, but it’s true.  When we first brought Norah home, I was afraid to change her, because she would cry, and i just didn’t want her to cry.  Giving her a bath for the first time was traumatizing for me and for her.  Our first visit to the doctor was a tragedy, I don’t think I’ll ever be the same.  After a few months, I just got use to it I guess.   There were nights when she would scream for hours, I remember thinking, “are all babies like this?  Why would anyone have more than one?” (i know that is awful to think, but those first couple of months were not easy)  If you are a mom, I’m sure you know what I mean.

 She has gotten so much better.  Just getting use to life.  She is doing great, but here in Peru, I don’t know if their babies just don’t cry, or if they can’t hear them because they are so bundled up.  If a baby cries it is the end of the world, and everyone has a solution.  I usually feel like I have to give them a reason why, (usually anything but what they are telling me).  I now realize that I thought the same way, and I wanted an answer or a reason for every whimper.  But I have finally settled in my mind it’s just a fact, she’s a baby and babies cry.   

One response »

  1. Yep those first few months are hard! But then you just kind of learn what their cries mean…like the hungry cry, the tired cry, the just “mad at the world” cry, etc.

Leave a Reply

